ISRO Establishments

Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Trivandrum

•  VSSC is the major center of ISRO

•  Responsible for development of rocket launch vehicles and sounding rockets.

•  The Space Physics Laboratory at VSSC carries out research and studies in atmospheric science and other related space science activities.

•  Ammonium Per chlorate Experimental Plant (APEP) at Aluva in Kerala is a part of VSSC.

•  The major programmes at VSSC include launch vehicle projects of Polar Satellite Launch Vehicles (PSLV), Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicles (GSLV Mark II and Mark III), Rohini Sounding Rockets, Space-capsule Recovery Experiments, Reusable Launch Vehicles and Air Breathing Propulsion for Advanced Reusable Launch Vehicles.

Satish Dhawan Space Centre(SDSC), Sriharikota

•  A launch complex and production centre of propellants.

•  launching satellite into low earth orbit, polar orbit and geostationary transfer orbit.

•  It has facilities for launching sounding rockets meant for studying the earth's atmosphere.

•  Achievements include establishment of launch complexes for Sounding rockets, SLV-3, ASLV and PSLV. Launch complex augmented for GSLV.

ISRO Satellite Centre (ISAC), Bangalore

•  Responsible for Space craft mainframe development.

•  Achievements include design and development of more than 50 satellites so far of various types like scientific, communication and remote sensing.

Space Application Centre(SAC), Ahmedabad

•  Main centre for space application and development of spacecraft's payloads.

•  SAC is a host institution for the training programmes related to Satellite Communication, Satellite Meteorology and global change under the Centre for Space Science & Technology Education in Asia and the Pacific (CSSTEAP) affiliated to the United Nations (UN).

Auxiliary Propulsion System Unit (APSU), Bangalore and Trivandrum

•  Develops propulsion control packages for launch vehicles and spacecrafts.

Development & Educational Communication Unit (DECU), Ahmedabad

•  Produces development and educational television programmes.

•  To promote the satellite-based communication systems to support development, education & training like Tele-Education (Edusat), Tele-Medicine (TM), Gramsat Program, Satcom Applications.

ISRO Telemetry, Tracking and Command Network (ISTRAC)

•  ISTRAC is responsible for providing Space Operation services that include spacecraft control, TTC support services

•  Development of RADAR systems for tracking & atmospheric applications and Establishment of Ground Segment Network for Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System of ISRO are the additional responsibilities of ISTRAC

•  Consist of five ground stations located at Sriharikota, Kovalpur, Trivandrum , Car Nicobar and Ahmedabad with head Quarters at Bangalore .

National Remote Sensing Agency (NRSA), Hyderabad

•  For utilizing the potential of remote sensing, mainly in the context of natural resources survey.

•  Indian National Satellite Space Segment Project Office (INSAT-INSSPO).

•  Responsible for implementation and operation of the space segment for INSAT.

•  The master control facility for INSAT spacecrafts is located at Hassan in Karnataka. The second centre is at Bhopal .

Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmedabad

•  To carry out research in outer space.

Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station(TERLS)

•  A US Sponsored mission near Trivandrum (Kerala) is a rocket launching Facility which became operational in 1963.

Rocket Propellant plant (RPP), Thumba

•  Commissioned in 1969, it is engaged in production of solid propellant blocks to support rocket launching programmes.

Experimental Satellite Communication Earth Station (ESCES), Ahmedabad

•  Set up in 1967, to impart instruction in Satellite Communication Technology.

Satellite Instructional Television Experiment (SITE), Ahmedabad

•  set up in 1970, to conduct join TV experiments.

Experimental Satellite Communication Earth Station, Arvi, Pune

•  India 's first Satellite Communication Earth Station. It operates through the Intersat-III satellite positioned over the Indian Ocean . Second station has been opened at Dehradun.

National Mesosphere Stratosphere Troposphere Reader Facility (NMRF) – Gadanki (near Tirupati)

•  To carry out atmospheric research.

ISRO Inertial Systems Unit (IISU), Thiruvananthapuram

•  To carry out research and development in the area of inertial sensors & systems and allied satellite elements.

•  This unit has the total capability to design, engineer, develop, qualify and deliver inertial systems for the entire Indian Space programme.

Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC), Valiamala

•  Liquid Propulsion for ISRO's Launch Vehicle and Spacecraft programmes.

•  The activities are spread across Valiamala / Thiruvananthapuram, Mahendragiri and Bangalore.

•  LPSC, Valiamala is responsible for research and development of Earth Storable and Cryogenic propulsion and delivers Engines, stages, associated control systems and components for Launch Vehicle and Spacecrafts.

•  LPSC, Mahendragiri in Tamil Nadu and is responsible for Assembly, Integration & Testing and Propellant storage & Servicing for launch vehicle engines & stages.

•  LPSC, Bangalore is responsible for Satellite Propulsion Systems Integration for GEOSAT and IRS programmes.

Master Control Facility(MCF), Hassan and Bhopal

•  Monitors and controls all the geo-stationary satellites of ISRO.

•  The operations involve continuous tracking, telemetry and commanding, special operations like eclipse management, station-keeping manoeuvres and recovery in case of contingencies.

Laboratory for Electro Optics Systems, Bangalore

•  Design, development and production of Electro-Optic sensors and camera optics for satellites and launch vehicles.

•  LEOS is situated at Peenya Industrial Estate, Bangalore where the first Indian Satellite Aryabhata was fabricated in 1975.

(Source: isro)