Civil Services

About Civil Services

The Civil Services examination is one of the most prestigious examinations conducted by UPSC. The examination procedure consists of three phases, Preliminary (held in May), Main (held in October/November) and Interview (held in March/April). Every year around 4 lakh people apply (only 50% that is 1.5-2 lakh actually appear in the preliminary exam) for about 400 vacancies. After the main examination around 5000 candidates are called for the interview. Thus, this whole process of selection takes almost one year.

The three types of services recruited through the Civil Services Examination are

All India Services

• Indian Administrative Service (IAS)
• Indian Police Service (IPS)

Central Civil Services - Group A

• Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
• Indian Revenue Service (IRS) - Income Tax
• Indian Revenue Service (IRS) - Customes & Central Excise
• Indian Audits & Accounts Service (IAAS)
• Indian Post & Telecommunication Accounts and Finance Service (IP&TAFS)
• Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS)
• Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS)
• Central Industrial Security Force (CISF)
• Indian Defence Accounts Service (IDAS)
• Indian Defence Estate Service (IDES)
• Indian Information Service (IIS)
• Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS)
• Railways Protection Force (RPF)

Central Civil Services - Group B

• Union Territories Administrative Service
• Union Territorries Police Service
• Central Secretariat Service
• Defence Secretariat Service