IAS Syllabus

Scheme of Civil Services Examination
Part A - Preliminary Examination
The Preliminary Examination consists of two papers of objective type (multiple-choice questions) carrying a maximum of 450 marks. The Question Papers (Test Booklets) are set in English & Hindi 
Part B - Main Examination
The Main examination comprises of nine papers, all of them of a descriptive type conducted within a span of 20 days. It is designed to test not only the academic talent of the aspirant but also his ability to coordinate and present his knowledge in a clear and cogent manner. 
List Of Optional Subjects Syllabus
  1. General Studies

  2. Agriculture
  3. Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science
  4. Botany
  5. Chemistry
  6. Civil Engineering
  7. Commerce
  8. Economics
  9. Electrical Engineering
  10. Geography
  11. Geology
  12. Indian History
  13. Law
  14. Mathematics
  15. Mechanical Engineering
  16. Medical Science
  17. Philosophy
  18. Physics
  19. Political Science
  20. Psychology
  21. Public Administration
  22. Sociology
  23. Statistics
  24. Zoology